Dashed

‘My courage will not be squashed; I’ll tell her my feelings today’, I soliloquised, as I passed by an electoral poster of her father. I always look forward to seeing her alighting from the chauffeur-driven SUV but oddly, she wasn’t in school today.

A crowd lurked around her house. People conversed in hushed tones, gathered in twos and threes. The usual euphoria was absent. I moved towards Rotimi as I sighted his customized Arsenal jersey in the crowd.

‘Guy, wetin dey happen?’, I asked, tapping his shoulder.

Baba, you never hear ni? Otunba & his family were assassinated last night’

Image Source: Deviant Art

Leave a Reply

